Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 4

Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 4

Cumbria Twinshock Club

Howton Court, Pontrilas

Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Andrew Fairclough Photography

The Toughsheet National Twinshock Championship round four was held at Pontrilas at the weekend, with Cumbria Twinshock once again hosting another superb weekend of classic vintage racing supported by Phil Denton Engineering. Overnight rain on Friday and early Sunday morning meant that the early races were really tricky but on both days it dried out perfectly to give some really spectacular racing throughout the classes.

In the Evo Open class Michael Ogden was on fire in race one taking the win, but the rest of his weekend was dogged with machine problems and falls. So it was Barry Turnbull who turned the wick up to then record four wins to take overall victory. Michael Smith had one of his best weekends taking second, with Danny Blakeley losing out to Michael on a tie break so took third from Callum Bircher in fourth. Josh Spinks guested on the Sunday and did manage to win race five on Alistair Welsbys Honda.

Lee Holland won the Super Evo class with two of the six race wins, beating race three winner Rian Warren into second by just four points.

Lee Martin took the final podium step, in third, with two wins over the weekend.

Willie Burgess is unbeatable this year in the Over 50 Twinshock class, as the man from Comber in Northern Ireland took all six wins. Second place went to a rejuvenated Jim Shand, who was awarded the Martindales Rider of the Meeting award for his efforts. Rob Glynn had a rare outing and was well pleased with his third place finish.

Pete Mathia is another rider who hasn’t lost the winning habit, as he took all six wins in the Over 60 Twinshock class. His nearest rival although a fair way behind was returnee Andy Holland who took second. Local Madley rider John Bennett took third by one point from Jim Simpson. Martin Snape was only another single point behind in fifth.

Another Hereford rider, Daran Williams was happy to be on home ground as he won the Clubman twinshock class with four wins from six.

Race two winner Mark Gardner came home in second, with Simon Young taking the final podium spot in third.

Dean Gray took four wins over the weekend in the Inters Clubman class to win overall, from Riley Copeland who had his best ride to date in second. Third went to guest rider Matt Yates, who missed the first race as he opted initially for the Clubman class which he won before being upgraded. Steve Morgan just got the better of Chris Anderton to take fourth place.

The Vets Over 40 class was a cracker as Danny Blakeley took two wins and the overall on his way to the top of the championship. Paul Coward though was the revelation as he rolled back the years to follow Danny home in second including a couple of race wins.

Richard Sharp must have led every race at some point but a final race problem relegated him to third even though he also won two of the races.

Rob Lewis was the best Over 50 Vet rider with three wins, followed by championship leader Steve Ward, who also matched Robs three race wins. Tim Sabine took third from Adrian Lewis in fourth.

There was some great Racing in the Experts Twinshock class and it was a straight battle between Brad O’Leary and Irelands Tommy Merton. Both riders had a trio of race wins but falls by Merton in two of the races gave the overall to Brad by just four points. Third went to a fast gating Michael Smith, with Sam Vickers in fourth.

Matt Rudd continued his domination of the 125 Twinshock class as he won four of the six races to take the win, with Jason Slater, a double race winner in second. Melvyn Homer was the best of the rest in third.

The West Midlands Evo races were dominated by four stroke rider Matt Hitchman, who had five wins, with his nearest rival being race one winner Sam Pocock. Zac Hackett on the 125 took third.

The Evo 125 races brought the crowd alive with some real bar banging racing, but it was Andy Lawton with five race wins who extended his lead in the championship. Scott Mathia was on fire in second place hassling Andy in each race with thrills galore every lap. Damie Strydom in third, gave them something to think about though on the Cagiva, leading race five before succumbing to the pressure. Jack May took fourth from Lewis Parkinson.

There was an added extra to the programme as a modern class saw Shaun Buchan win four from six to win, from Scott Meredith, Jordan Barrs and Luke Price.

The next and penultimate round is at Hawkstone Park on August 29/30.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – Jim Shand

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution Open

1 Barry Turnbull, 2 Michael Smith, 3 Danny Blakeley, 4 Callum Bircher, 5 Lee Jones, 6 Ben Durban.

S-N Properties Super Evos

1 Lee Holland, 2 Rian Warren, 3 Lee Martin, 4 Jak Dinsley, 5 Ben Parkinson, 6 Frazer Hatch.

MotoX Concepts Over 50’s Twinshock

1 Willie Burgess, 2 Jim Shand, 3 Rob Glynn, 4 Pete Williamson, 5 Dylan Davis, 6 Craig Holmes.

MotoX Concepts Over 60’s Twinshock

1 Pete Mathia, 2 Andy Holland, 3 John Bennett, 4 Jim Simpson, 5 Martin Snape, 6 Terry Connor.

Phoenix Motos Clubman Twinshock

1 Daran Williams, 2 Mark Gardner, 3 Simon Young, 4 Jamie Mason, 5 Neil Eastwood, 6 Craig Ruck.

CI Sport Inters Twinshock

1 Dean Gray, 2 Riley Copeland, 3 Matt Yates, 4 Steve Morgan, 5 Chris Anderton, 6 Sean Burrows.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Danny Blakeley, 2 Paul Coward, 3 Richard Sharp, 4 Andy Hinchliffe, 5 Adam Wilkinson, 6 Simon Bonser.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Rob Lewis, 2 Steve Ward, 3 Tim Sabine, 4 Adrian Lewis, 5 Gary Mason, 6 Andrew Prosser.

Wulfsport Experts Twinshock

1 Brad O’Leary, 2 Tommy Merton, 3 Michael Smith, 4 Sam Vickers, 5 David Hopkins, 6 Barry Turnbull.

Falcon Shocks 250 Twinshock

1 Ryan Ireland, 2 Anthony Twidle, 3 Oliver Dodders, 4 Matt Bennett, 5 James Drewery, 6 Wayne Twidle.

WLB Fitness 125 Twinshock

1 Matt Rudd, 2 Jason Slater, 3 Melvyn Homer, 4 Mark Burrows, 5 Steve Riley, 6 Dave Ellis.

WLB Fitness 125 Evolution

1 Andy Lawton, 2 Scott Mathia, 3 Damie Strydom, 4 Jack May, 5 Lewis Parkinson, 6 Sean Smith.

West Mids Evos

1 Matt Hitchman, 2 Sam Pocock, 3 Zac Hackett, 4 Dave Russell, Jake Chamberlain, 6 Simon Howells.

Modern Class

1 Shaun Buchan, 2 Scott Meredith, 3 Jordan Barrs, 4 Luke Price, 5 James Newby, 6 Kieron Davis.


Comments are closed.