Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 3

Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 3

Cumbria Twinshock Club

The Grange, Tern Hill

Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Andrew Fairclough Photography

The Toughsheet National Twinshock Championship reached the halfway point at the weekend, when Cumbria Twinshock ran round three at the Grange, near Tern Hill supported by Dave Ellis and DLE Construction. And what a good job they did, in managing to get through all three blocks of racing for the 250 riders, despite the thirty degrees temperatures. It was a much improved and revamped track since the last visit over three years ago, and it was obvious that the track owners Telford MXC Sam and Kenny Warren had done all the right preps, and kept it watered throughout the weekend to keep the inevitable dust at bay.

The first class to the line was a depleted CI Sport Intermediate class, and there were some great battles at the front between Steve Morgan and Dean Gray, taking a win apiece, but in race three a snapped throttle cable put paid to Morgans hopes. This left Gray to take the overall with a third race win. Ryland Jones stepped in as runner up, from Chris Anderton in third, in front of Steve Morgan and Lucy Tilzey, who was last year’s Clubman Champion.

The Hazport Vets class once again had a full line up, and in the Over 40’s it was a straight scrap between Adam Wilkinson and Danny Blakeley, with Adams 150 KTM somehow managing to squeeze every last ounce of power to overcome the big Kawasaki of Blakeleys to take all three victories and was awarded the Martindales Rider of the Meeting decanter for his heroic efforts. Danny came home second, with Simon Bonser in third, just in front of Andy Hinchliffe and Martyn Gregory.

The Over 50’s were mixing it up at the front as well, and it is so tight at the top with Steve Ward battling with Marc Spruce.

Marc managed to get his nose in front by winning the first two races, but a last lap off into the bushes wrecked his day and promoted Steve to the top step on the podium, with a last race win. Mike Allport edged out Anthony Houseman and Rob Lewis for third in tightly contested races.

Brad O’Leary ended the day leading the Wulfsport Experts class, despite having to come from dead last in race one, which was won by Jimmy Margetson. But it was all happening in race two as a massive ten bike pile up at the end of the start straight, took out two leading contenders with both Margetsons involved. Michael Smith had a great day and ended second on the podium with three consistent finishes.

Sam Vickers took third and doing his first event of the year Jamie Biddulph came fourth.

The Falcon Shocks 250 class saw the resumption of the battle between Ryan Ireland and Anthony Twidle, and it was Ireland who took two wins to Twidles one to win the overall, and still lead the title chase. Oliver Dodders had his best finish all year in third, from Wayne Twidle and Jack Mason.

Matt Rudd reigned supreme in the WLB Fitness 125 Twinshocks with three classy wins out of three, and Jason Slater with another personal best position in second. And it was hard to separate Richard Wood and Melvyn Homer all weekend, with Richard just edging it with a better race three score.

Once again some of the fastest races were in the 125 Evo class, and anyone of the top three could have won. Series leader Andy Lawton took two race wins, and combined with a third place, managed to take the spoils. Second went to Scott Mathia with three second places, on a tie break with race two winner Jack May. It was great to watch, and Lewis Parkinson and Tim Gardham were not out of it at any stage in fourth and fifth.

All three of the Phoenix Motos Clubman Twinshock races were won by Chris Rogerson, who will now move up into the Inters class, after battling with runner up Neil Eastwood all day. Mark Gardner continued his fine run of results in third, after a tie break with Darran Williams in fourth, just a point ahead of James Fugett in fifth.

Willie Burgess continued where he had left off at Bevercotes, with three faultless victories in the Moto X Concepts Over 50’s twinshock class on the Gary Murphy Maico. Kevin Reed tried all he could to close the gap in each race but had to be content with three seconds. Mark Warttig had his best result in third, from Jim Shand and Pete Williamson.

There was an unfortunate accident involving Wayne Le Marquand in the Over 60’s, and we wish him well with his recovery. Following the red flag, it was the ever-green Pete Mathia, who showed all his old skills to comfortably take all three wins. Pat Rowe rode solidly in second, as did Martin Snape in third. Terry Connor was fourth and returning after a lay off was Andy Holland in fifth.

The Woodys Vintage Honda Evo Open class was a cracker as Aaron McLoughlin won his first overall victory, with two wins out of three, but he was chased hard by Dan Shepherd, with three seconds, and only two points separated them at the finish. Barry Turnbull easily won race two to take third but had a crash and a puncture in the other two. Michael Smith took fourth by a point from Danny Blakeley.

The S-N Properties Super Evo class had a good turnout, with debutant Andy Lawton on the Steve Clitheroe Honda, taking all three wins.

Lee Holland was second each time to take the runner up berth, from Lee Martin, Ben Parkinson and Dean Hakes.

The extra Modern class at the end was easily won by Jimmy Margetson with three clean wins. Shane Holmes was the man in second, from Sam Smith, Joel Hughes and Scott Meredith.

The next round is at Pontrilas, Hereford on July 31 / August 1.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – Adam Wilkinson

CI Sport Inters Twinshock

1 Dean Gray, 2 Ryland Jones, 3 Chris Anderton, 4 Steve Morgan, 5 Lucy Tilzey, 6 Riley Copeland.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Adam Wilkinson, 2 Danny Blakeley, 3 Simon Bonser, 4 Andy Hinchliffe, 5 Martyn Gregory, 6 Dave Bennett.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Steve Ward, 2 Marc Spruce, 3 Mike Allport, 4 Anthony Houseman, 5 Rob Lewis, 6 Tim Sabine.

Wulfsport Experts Twinshock

1 Brad O’Leary, 2 Michael Smith, 3 Sam Vickers, 4 Jamie Biddulph, 5 Jimmy Margetson, 6 Ben Margetson.

Falcon Shocks 250 Twinshock

1 Ryan Ireland, 2 Anthony Twidle, 3 Oliver Dodders, 4 Wayne Twidle, 5 Jack Mason, 6 Matt Bennett.

WLB Fitness 125 Twinshock

1 Matt Rudd, 2 Jason Slater, 3 Richard Wood, 4 Melvyn Homer, 5 Mark Burrows, 6 Chris Rowlands.

WLB Fitness 125 Evolution

1 Andy Lawton, 2 Scott Mathia, 3 Jack May, 4 Lewis Parkinson, 5 Tim Gardham, 6 Steve Gardham.

Phoenix Motos Clubman Twinshock

1 Chris Rogerson, 2 Neil Eastwood, 3 Mark Gardner, 4 Darran Williams, 5 James Fuggett, 6 Timmy Gravener.

MotoX Concepts Over 50’s Twinshock

1 Willie Burgess, 2 Kevin Reed, 3 Mark Warttig, 4 Jim Shand, 5 Pete Williamson, 6 Mark Tilzey.

MotoX Concepts Over 60’s Twinshock

1 Pete Mathia, 2 Pat Rowe, 3 Martin Snape, 4 Terry Connor, 5 Andy Holland, 6 John Bennett.

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution Open

1 Aaron McLoughlin, 2 Dan Shepherd, 3 Barry Turnbull, 4 Michael Smith, 5 Danny Blakeley, 6 Rian Warren.

S-N Properties Super Evos

1 Andy Lawton, 2 Lee Holland, 3 Lee Martin, 4 Ben Parkinson, 5 Dean Hakes, 6 Frazer Hatch.

Modern Class

1 Jimmy Margetson, 2 Shane Holmes, 3 Sam Smith, 4 Joel Hughes, 5 Scott Meredith, 6 Tom Fish.


Comments are closed.