Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 1


Cumbria Twinshock Club

Stipers Hill, Polesworth

Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Click 466 Photography

The Toughsheet National Twinshock championship opened the doors to the 2017 season, with the first round at Stipers Hill, Polesworth on Sunday. As usual the Cumbria Twinshock Club worked wonders, with getting the track just right, and managing to pull off a fantastic event, and getting through the mammoth 24 race programme in record time.

It was the largest gathering of riders the series has ever seen, and the paddock was full to bursting with over 270 riders taking part.

The forecasted rain never materialised, and the track stayed firm and grippy throughout.

There was a real surprise for the registered Woodys Vintage Honda Evo class riders on the start line, as Maxxis regular Jamie Law turned out on an immaculate 500 Kawasaki, and duly stormed home in his usual smooth style, to three race wins, although he did make one slip in race one, but remounted just in front of a fast charging Gavin Robertson in second. Another ex British Championship rider, David Campbell took the runner up overall, with three solid rides, from former champion Michael Smith. Reigning champion Conor Smith had to settle for fourth on the day after a couple of slips.

In the MD Racing Over 50 twinshock class, Gary Parker was making his debut, and held off Irelands Willie Burgess to take the first race win, but Burgess came storming back to take the next two, although only a few bike lengths separated them all day. So Burgess started the season with the overall, with Parker second, and Mark Silvester back on the Maico took third. Reigning champion Pete Mathia had to settle for fourth from Norman Emery.

In the Over 60’s there were three different winners, but race two winner Graham Challis came out on top going 2-1-3 for the overall. Race three winner and last years champion Alan Hambridge took second from Phil Wilkes, with unlucky first race victor Martin Snape, who had bikes issues fourth.

The LPE Clubman Twinshock class had some new faces joining the regulars, and it was Rob Francom, riding Jon Hollands Suzuki, who went 1-3-2 to take the overall honours on his debut.

Jake Veitch looked solid winning the third race to take second, and Luke Stoey came home third following his second race win. Mike Tucker led a race before the young guns got him, but still took fourth.

There was some really good racing in the 40 strong Hazport Vets class on modern bikes, and it was Danny Blakeley on the two stroke Yamaha who took all three wins for the overall. Jonno White did all he could to catch Danny, but it wasn’t to be, and he settled for second on the day. New to the class Laurence Wiltshire took third, from David Bennett and Paul Groom.

Mike Allport was the first Over 50 rider home in sixth overall.

It was great to see the West Midland Evo crew racing alongside the championship, and they swelled the ranks with more than 50 riders, who were split into several classes. Jake Chamberlain came out on top of the 500cc riders from Jonathan Tapp. Paul Kirkby on the big ATK took the four stroke class from Jason Aylett. Neil Griffiths topped the 125 class from Martin Stokes, and Dean Warren was the man to beat in the 250’s, although Paul Baldwin did all he could but had to settle for second.

The biggest Wulfsport Experts class for a number of years were next to the line, with a good percentage of new riders. And it was twinshock convert Barry Turnbull, who stormed into the lead of race one, but Jamie Jackson was reeling him in, until his Maico cried enough, which left Turnbull with an easy ride home for his first win. Jackson made no mistake in the next two though, as he took both race wins. But at the end of the day Turnbulls win and two seconds gave him the series lead. Reigning champion Lee Holland had a few issues on the day, but still managed to take second overall, in front of David Campbell in third with two top three finishes. Jackson ended in fourth, from Michael Smith in fifth. Irelands Jonathan McBride took sixth, and was awarded the Martindales Rider of the Meeting award.

The CI Sport Inters class, which races alongside the Experts, saw James Curtis off to a flyer with two wins to take first overall, from Steve Miller in second. A three way tie for third was decided by last race result in favour of Chris Anderton, from Mark Burrows and Dan Hardy.

Sean McCrea made his return to the MRH Consultants 125 twinshocks with three wins to take first in class. New boy Mark Burrows was delighted with second overall, from another debutant Matt Rudd in third.

The MRH 125 Evo class is fast becoming the most popular class with a full line up, with a number of riders, mostly on Hondas capable of winning, and so it was as there were three different winners. And it was a delighted John Butler who came out on top, after his race three win gave him the overall on the day. Fast starting Andy Lawton took race two, and second overall, from Jacob Joyce in third, and race one winner David Blackburn in fourth

The next round is the Matt Murphy Memorial event at Hawkstone Park on Saturday April 29.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – Jonathan McBride

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution

1 Jamie Law, 2 David Campbell, 3 Michael Smith, 4 Connor Smith, 5 Gavin Robertson,

6 Jamie Dobson.

MD Racing Over 50’s

1 Willie Burgess, 2 Gary Parker, 3Mark Silvester, 4 Pete Mathia, 5 Norman Emery,

6 Wayne Le Marquand.

MD Racing Over 60’s

1 Graham Challis, 2 Alan Hambridge, 3 Phil Wilkes, 4 Martin Snape, 5 Steve Mitton,

6 Bill Brown.

LPE Clubman

1 Robert Francom, 2 Jake Veitch, 3 Luke Story, 4 Mike Tucker, 5 Simon Bentley, 6 Lucy Tilzey.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Danny Blakeley, 2 Jonno White, 3 Laurence Wiltshire, 4 David Bennett, 5 Paul Groom,

6 Mike Allport.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Mike Allport, 2 Phil Daley, 3 Steve Rowlands, 4 David Clayborn, 5 Mark Bowden.

West Midland Evos 4 Stroke

1 Paul Kirkby, 2 Jason Aylett, 3 Jordan Pope.

West Midland Evos 500

1 Jake Chamberlain, 2 Jonathan Tapp, 3 James Reeves, 4 Nathan Smith, 5 Vince Larcombe.

Wulfsport Experts

1 Barry Turnbull, 2 Lee Holland, 3 David Campbell, 4 Jamie Jackson, 5 Michael Smith,

6 Jonathan McBride.

Falcon Shocks Best 250 – Laurence Wiltshire

CI Sport Inters

1James Curtis, 2 Stephen Miller, 3 Chris Anderton, 4 Mark Burrows, 5 Dan Hardy, 6 James Graham..

West Midland Evos 125’s

1 Neil Griffiths, 2 Martin Stokes, 3 Zac Hackett, 4 Nick Mauger, 5 Paul Mansell.

West Midland Evos 250’s

1 Dean Warren, 2 Paul Baldwin, 3 Bradley Stokes, 4 Lee Jackson, 5 Thomas Greaves, 6 Jim Shand.

MRH Consultants 125 Twinshock

1 Sean McCrea, 2 Mark Burrows, 3 Matt Rudd, 4 Andy Robinson, 5 Dave Ellis, 6 John Davis.

MRH Consultants 125 Evolution

1 John Butler, 2 Andy Lawton, 3 Jacob Joyce, 4 David Blackburn, 5 Jonno White, 6 Andy Wilkes.


Comments are closed.