Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 1

Cumbria Twinshock Club

Stipers Hill, Polesworth

Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Andrew Fairclough Photography

After 20 months without a round of the Toughsheet National Twinshock series, the Cumbria Twinshock Club hosted the opening round of 2021 at Stipers Hill, Polesworth, the traditional track used to start the action. The Club received support for the event from Moto Sport Services at Haydock, and there was a tremendous line up of nearly 250 riders, who were all eager to see if the lockdown training had made the difference. Unfortunately this was a closed event with no spectators due to the Covid guidelines.

Saturdays torrential rain made the going very heavy early on Sunday, but lines were soon appearing as the Evo 125’s came to the line first. With the sun shining it was Corey Nemeth who reeled off three fantastic start to finish victories. His only real challenger was reigning champion Andy Lawton, who had to settle for three seconds on the day. There was a mixed bag of results for the remaining riders, who each swapped places in every race, which saw Jack May take third, just beating Ben Murray and Scott Mathia.

The Experts, 125 and 250 twinshock riders all raced together, and it was a masterclass from former AMCA champion Brad O’Leary who took his Wulfsport Maico to three convincing wins.

Albert Martindale with his ultra-smooth riding style rode really well and finished second to Brad in each race, with Sam Vickers in third.

The 125 Twinshock class was a very close affair, and it was John Davis who took the top step after his third race victory. He pipped former champion Matt Rudd by just three points, with debutant Melvyn Homer only one point further back in third.

In the 250 Twinshock class Anthony Twidle was mixing it with the experts, and won two out three of his class races to take the overall, and really showed his speed up at the front. Ryan Ireland was another rider on a mission and he took the remaining race win which gave him second overall from Sean Dodders, Matt Bennett and James Drewery.

There were quite a few new Clubman Twinshock riders to the series, and it was one of them, Gene Harker who took all three wins. Mark Gardner in second had his best result of his career in second, and with it, won the Martindales Rider of The Meeting award. Third went to Neil Eastwood by just three points from Craig Ruck, and Duncan Judd in fifth, with his first meeting for six years.

The Evo Open class was a fast trio of races, with Michael Ogden reigning supreme after he reeled off the first two race wins, and took the overall with a fifth in the final encounter.

Barry Turnbull, back after a two year sabbatical took second after getting faster with each race, and winning the final one. Aaron McLoughlin was on it all day and took third, pipping Callum Bircher by a single point. Danny Blakeley was fifth another point behind after struggling in race three.

The Super Evos had a great line up of riders, with each of the top three winning a race apiece. Victory on the day though went to Lee Holland who is on the hunt for another title to add to his collection over the years. Ben Parkinson fought hard, but had to settle for second from Grant Hacking, Tim Thornton and Jak Dinsley.

We had a new winner in the Over 50 Twinshock class as former AMCA Classic Champion Kevin Reed won all three races to take the spoils. He led all three races from start to finish, in a faultless display of riding. There was barely a fag paper separating the next few riders, but Mike Davies was delighted with his runner up spot by a point from Pete Williamson, with Jim Shand and Carl Hodgson another couple of points down.

It was great to see so many Over 60 riders line up for their start, as some of them were in their seventies, and had been riding for over fifty years. The winner of the class was former AMCA championship runner Martin Snape who took a first second and a third.

Pat Rowe was always up there and took second, narrowly beating Jim Simpson. Cheshire Charger Pete Mathia had bike trouble and a DNF in race one but won races two and three to take fourth overall.

Dean Gray was the man to beat in the Inters Twinshock class, and after a third in race one, he seemed to find his mojo when winning the second and third motos to stand on the top step. Ryland Jones who won race one finished second, just in front of Riley Copeland and Sean Burrows.

Danny Blakeley started as he finished in 2019, by winning the Vets Modern Over 40’s, taking two out of three race wins to lead the series. Simon Bonser in second gave him some really great battles, but a couple of errors allowed Danny to creep away from him at the front. Race three winner Richard Sharp took third, and Adam Wilkinson on a 125 did brilliantly to take fourth from new boy Andy Hinchliffe.

The Over 50’s Vets went to Mark Spruce with a win and two seconds. Adrian Lewis won the first which helped him to second overall from Anthony Houseman.

The final class of the day was the West Mids Evos Pre-85 class, and that went to Sam Pocock with two wins, but he was pushed hard all day by Jake Chamberlain in second and Jacob Griffiths in third. It was good to see Scott Reed back on the bike, and he managed a great fourth place.

All in all it was a great meeting run by the club in difficult circumstances, and all credit goes to them for putting it on after horrendous conditions on Saturday.

Next round is Nottingham Twinshock Club at Bevercotes on Sunday May 30, where we hope the government guidelines will have changed for the better.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – Mark Gardner

WLB Fitness 125 Evolution

1 Corey Nemeth, 2 Andy Lawton, 3 Jack May, 4 Ben Murray, 5 Scott Mathia, 6 Lewis Parkinson.

Wulfsport Experts Twinshock

1 Brad O’Leary, 2 Albert Martindale, 3 Sam Vickers.

Falcon Shocks 250 Twinshock

1 Anthony Twidle, 2 Ryan Ireland, 3 Sean Dodders, 4 Matt Bennett, James Drewery, 6 Wayne Twidle.

WLB Fitness 125 Twinshock

1 John Davis, 2 Matt Rudd, 3 Melvyn Homer, 4 Mark Burrows, 5 David Farmer, 6 Ian Knight.

Phoenix Motos Clubman Twinshock

1 Gene Harker, 2 Mark Gardner, 3 Neil Eastwood, 4 Craig Ruck, 5 Duncan Judd, 6 David White.

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution Open

1 Michael Ogden, 2 Barry Turnbull, 3 Aaron McLoughlin, 4 Callum Bircher, 5 Danny Blakeley, 6 Dan Shepherd.

S-N Properties Super Evos

1 Lee hooland, 2 Ben Parkinson, 3 Grant Hacking, 4 Tim Thornton, 5 Jak Dinsley, 6 Frazer Hatch.

MotoX Concepts Over 50’s Twinshock

1 Kevin Reed, 2 Mike Davies, 3 Pete Williamson, 4 Jim Shand, 5 Carl Hodgson, 6 Paul Lippitt.

MotoX Concepts Over 60’s Twinshock

1 Martin Snape, 2 Pat Rowe, 3 Jim Simpson, 4 Pete Mathia, 5 Graham Challis, 6 Terry Connor.

CI Sport Inters Twinshock

1 Dean Gray, 2 Ryland Jones, 3 Riley Copeland, 4 Sean Burrows, 5 Tom Salt, 6 Chris Anderton.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Danny Blakeley, 2 Simon Bonser, 3 Richard Sharp, 4 Adam Wilkinson, 5 Andy Hinchliffe,

6 Thurlow Bone.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Mark Spruce, 2 Adrian Lewis, 3 Anthony Houseman, 4 Richard Corner, 5 Dean Dewing, 6 Steve Ward.

West Midland Evos

1 Sam Pocock, 2 Jake Chamberlain, 3 Jacob Griffiths, 4 Scott Reed, 5 Zac Hackett, 6 Phil Newman.


Comments are closed.