Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Final Round 6

Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Final Round 6

Cumbria Twinshock Club

Culham, Oxon.

Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Andrew Fairclough Photography

The final Toughsheet National Twinshock Championship round saw Cumbria Twinshock hosting at Culham in deepest Oxfordshire supported by Willie Burgess and WJB Electrical.

The club did their utmost to encourage riders to enter, but it was a low turn out of just over 140 who arrived to a superbly graded track ready for the final action of the season. But the club put on a superb end of season event with plenty of entertainment on offer, and weather to match. With all of the class titles still up for grabs there was certainly some great racing along the banks of the River Thames.

The first title of the day was the Wulfsport Experts, with Brad O’Leary requiring only three points to wrap up the win, which he duly did in race one, to become the new National Twinshock Champion, and added this to his many AMCA titles. He won the first two races before wrecking his front wheel in race three, and then called it a day before heading home. This left fast challenger Richard Mason in charge as he reeled off three wins to take the overall over the weekend. Sam Vickers was promoted to second after six consistent finishes, with race five winner Michael Smith taking third.

In the 125 Twinshock class Matt Rudd took three wins on the Saturday, to claim his second title, and then sat out the Sunday, leaving Jason Slater to take the honours winning all three of his Sunday races. Melvin Homer finished top three all weekend to take second from Mark Burrows in third.

The 250 Twinshock Class saw six great battles between Ryan Ireland and Anthony Twidle, with Ryan just edging the win with four race victories to Anthony’s two. The pair were never more than a couple of bike lengths apart, but the extra points gave Ryan the title in his debut twinshock season.

Michael Ogden started as he finished at Farleigh the week before, by taking the overall win in the Evolution Open class, with two wins and three seconds, pipping another double race winner Dylan Spencer who took second. Danny Blakeley took the Kawasaki to third, and Callum Bircher eventually won his season long battle with Dan Shepherd to take fourth and take the 250 title for his efforts. Dan did win two of his races before a seized engine put paid to his chase of Callum. Barry Turnbull took the title on Saturday though by gathering enough points to claim the honours for the season, before heading home a day early.

The Super Evo Class saw a cakewalk for Corey Nemeth, as he was unstoppable, and rode on rails all weekend to take six wins out of six.

There were some great battles for the rest of the podium places, as Frazer Hatch bagged second, Lee Martin got third, and Lee Holland took fourth from James Newby.

Andy Lawton took his second 125 Evo title by winning four races, but he didn’t have it all his own way as a first corner crash in race six gave him plenty to do, but he came through the field to third, a great performance. It was great to see the Cagiva of Damon Strydom mixing it with the front runners and he took two wins to take second, with Lewis Parkinson holding off the pack to take third from Jack May and Scott Mathia.

Event sponsor Willie Burgess wrapped up his fourth consecutive Over 50 Twinshock title on the Saturday with two wins, which was fortunate as he had bike gremlins on the Sunday. Jim Shand took his Yamaha to the overall win though with four seconds and a final race win. Pete Williamson was second, ten points ahead of Wayne Twidle in third.

Terry Connor took his first ever overall win in the Over 60 Twinshock class and was awarded the Martindales Rider of the Meeting award.

And John Bennett competing in his thirtieth year of Twinshock racing, took second from Martin Snape in third. It was sad to see Pete Mathia having a nasty fall, and we wish him well with his recovery. But before his crash, on Sunday he had won all three races on the Saturday to clinch the Over 60’s title, making him the GOAT with a record seven titles to his name.

The Clubman twinshock class saw a real see saw chase with no fewer than four riders battling to take the crown, and it was Mark Gardner who eventually got enough points to top the charts becoming champion on the big four stroke Husky. His nearest rival was Neil Eastwood who only finished a handful of points behind Mark. Over the weekend though it was Simon Young who took his first ever overall victory by a single point from Eastwood, with Daran Williams third, and Gardner fourth.

In the Inters Twinshock class Dean Gray wrapped up the title on Saturday with a win so didn’t need to compete on the Sunday. This left Riley Copeland to take his first overall win with some great riding on the Sunday and a hattrick of wins over the weekend. Steve Morgan continued his weekend battles with Chris Anderton, and took second from Chris, with a final race win. Fourth was Sean Burrows, who takes the four-stroke title on the Husky. Lucy Tilzey was having a great weekend until her injury, and we all send our best wishes.

Danny Blakeley won his fourth Vets Over 40 modern title, with a tidy four race wins to stand on the top step, but Simon Bonser pushed him in every race and managed to take two race wins for second place. Andy Hinchliffe had some great rides for third from Paul Ferguson and Chris Lambourne.

Steve Ward was also celebrating after winning the Vets Over 50 title at the third attempt. He won five from six, but Adrian Lewis kept him honest, taking second with a first race victory and not too far behind Steve in the others.

Tim Sabine took third from Steve Sharples and Melvyn Homer.

There was an extra Modern class added, and James Dent was in a class of his own, winning every race, with Owen Wilkes second and Thomas O’Connor third. Charlie Reynolds was the star of Modern B taking victory in all his races.

And so endeth the thirtieth year of Twinshock racing, let’s hope there are many more.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – Terry Connor.

Wulfsport Experts Twinshock

1 Richard Mason, 2 Sam Vickers, 3 Michael Smith, 4 Brad O’Leary, 5 Dene Dewing.

Falcon Shocks 250 Twinshock

1 Ryan Ireland, 2 Anthony Twidle, 3 Matt Bennett.

WLB Fitness 125 Twinshock

1 Jason Slater, 2 Melvyn Homer, 3 Mark Burrows, 4 Matt Rudd, 5 Dave Ellis.

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution Open

1 Michael Ogden, 2 Dylan Spencer, 3 Danny Blakeley, 4 Callum Bircher, 5 Michael Smith, 6 David Hopkins.

S-N Properties Super Evos

1 Corey Nemeth, 2 Frazer Hatch, 3 Lee Martin, 4 Lee Holland, 5 James Newby, 6 Lee Buck.

WLB Fitness 125 Evolution

1 Andy Lawton, 2 Damon Strydom, 3 Lewis Parkinson, 4 Jack May, 5 Scott Mathia, 6 Rob Kingaby.

MotoX Concepts Over 50’s Twinshock

1 Jim Shand, 2 Pete Williamson, 3 Wayne Twidle, 4 Willie Burgess, 5 Kelvin Tatum, 6 Kev Smith.

MotoX Concepts Over 60’s Twinshock

1 Terry Connor, 2 John Bennett, 3 Martin Snape, 4 Reg Beaumont, 5 Pete Mathia, 6 Andy Holland.

Phoenix Motos Clubman Twinshock

1 Simon Young, 2 Neil Eastwood, 3 Daran Williams, 4 Mark Gardner, 5 Adrian Hadman, 6 David White.

CI Sport Inters Twinshock

1 Riley Copeland, 2 Steve Morgan, 3 Chris Anderton, 4 Sean Burrows, 5 Ashley Smnith, 6 Lucy Tilzey.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Danny Blakeley, 2 Simon Bonser, 3 Andy Hinchliffe, 4 Paul Fergurson, 5 Chris Lambourne, 6 Paul Croxon.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Steve Ward, 2 Adrian Lewis, 3 Tim Sabine, 4 Steve Sharples, 5 Melvin James, 6 Mark Burchell.

Modern A

1 James Dent, 2 Owen Wilkes, 3 Thomas O’Connor, 4 Andy Poss, 5 Sean Veness, 6 Jordan Barrs.

Modern B

1 Charlie Reynolds, 2 Jack Hyde, 3 Sam Hamer, 4 Paul Wieczorek, 5 Danny Gagg, 6 Ethan Stephen.


Comments are closed.