Round 4 – Barnoldswick

Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 4

Lancashire Twinshock Club


Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Andrew Fairclough

The Toughsheet National Twinshock MX Championships reached the half way point last weekend, when round four was hosted by the Lancashire Twinshock Club in East Lancashire at Barnoldswick. The club did a magnificent job in setting out a twinshock friendly track, with a long grassy start straight, and then several loops of the hillside with a few safe jumps thrown in. The fears of dust were allayed following a nice downpour the day before the 160 riders arrived.

The 24 race programme ran like clockwork, and it was the turn of the Wulfsport Experts to go first to the line. After some hectic gearbox repairs leading up to the event, it was Barry Turnbull who reigned supreme with three clear victories to take the overall win, although the Margetson brothers did pressurise him early on, with Jimmy eventually finishing runner up from Ben in third. Michael Smith, one of the club workers had an up and down day in fourth, with Peter Eccles guesting on the Marsh HPF in fifth. Jamie Biddulph in sixth was the best Falcon Shocks 250 rider.

The MRH 125 Twinshock class saw a titanic battle between John Davis and Matt Rudd, with Davis coming out on top with three victories, and Rudd with three seconds. It was great to see the return of Sean McCrea after an injury, and he had a good day in third, with Jason Herring and Steve Riley in fourth and fifth.

The CI Sport Inters class threw up three different winners as Sean Burrows took his first ever win in race one, then Dan Hardy kept it all together to win the second, before series leader Jem Parker took the third. But consistency was the order of the day, as Kyle Godbear took first ever overall victory with a 3-4-2 scorecard. Local rider James Cowgill took second on the podium from Parker, Burrows and Hardy.

A full Hazport Vets Modern class roared down the straight next, and Danny Blakeley, out this week on the Yamaha, took the first race win, but had a nasty crash later in the day, meant he could take no further part, and we wish him well with his recovery. This then left round three winner Richard Chinn to take up the reins, and he reeled off two wins, to not only take the overall, but also the series lead. Darren Dobson looked a new man in taking second, with Adam Wilkinson in third, and Thurlow Bone had his best ride this year in fourth from Steve Ward in fifth. Steve was also the top Over 50 finisher, just pipping Mark Spruce by a single point, with Dave Clayborn in third.

In the LPE Clubman class, it was a good day for David Taylor, who set a scorching pace to take three closely fought victories, and was awarded the Martindales Rider of the Meeting award for his efforts. Mark Lakeland closed in on Taylor in the latter part of each race, but just fell short in second, and series leader Timmy Gravener was just behind each race in third. Luke Freudenau showed great consistency in fourth, and Ashley Smith took his first ever trophy in fifth.

Some of the closest racing was reserved for the Woodys Vintage Honda Evolution class, and there were some really fiery battles between Barry Turnbull, Jamie Dobson and Michael Ogden.

But it was Barry who came out on top each time, firing the Honda to three wins. Dobson, who led for quite a few of the exciting laps came second, with Ogden not too far adrift in third. Michael Smith took fourth, and Rian Warren had his best ever ride in fifth.

Willie Burgess was the man to beat in the MotoX Concepts Over 50 twinshock class, and a first

corner clash with Gary Parker, left him free to take the first race win. He then took the next two

wins to take a clear overall. Pete Williamson was runner up on the podium with three top four rides, with Parker third, Andy Holland fourth, and Tim Sabine in fifth.

The Over 60 Twinshock class was a straight shoot out between Jerseys Wayne Le Marquand on the Marsh HPF, and Martin Snape on the Maico, and with one win apiece, it all went down to the final race decider, which Le Marquand won to close the gap on series leader Snape ever so slightly. Alan Hambridge just got the better of Alan Hardy to take third place.

It was a joy to watch the MRH 125 Evo class again, as Shane Holmes really stamped his authority on the proceedings, taking three great wins for the overall. He got out of the gate fast and took control, but was chased by some very fast riders, as Andy Lawton eventually took the runner up spot from Nathan Marsden in third. Lee Holland was always there abouts and took fourth from Mason Bell in fifth.

The final class of the day was the Modern class, and the eventual winner was James Clark with three second places. It had all looked different after race one as Ben Margetson won the first, and but for a DNF in race one, double race winner Matt Williamson might have taken the spoils.

Steve Sobey had a good day taking second overall from Lancashire Club rider Lee Buck in third.

The next round is the Cumbrias Twinshock Clubs event at The Grange, Tern Hill, Shropshire on July 22.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – David Taylor.

Wulfsport Experts

1 Barry Turnbull, 2 Jimmy Margetson, 3 Ben Margetson, 4 Michael Smith, 5 Peter Eccles,

6 Jamie Biddulph (Best Falcon Shocks 250).

MRH Consultants 125 Twinshock

1 John Davis, 2 Matt Rudd, 3 Sean McCrea, 4 Jason Herring, 5 Steve Riley, 6 Jason Slater.

CI Sport Inters

1 Kyle Godbear, 2 James Cowgill, 3 Jem Parker, 4 Sean Burrows, 5 Dan Hardy, 6 Matt Bennett.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Richard Chinn, 2 Darren Dobson, 3 Adam Wilkinson, 4 Thurlow Bone, 5 Steve Ward,

6 Mark Spruce.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Steve Ward, 2 Mark Spruce, 3 Dave Clayborn, 4 Mark Bowden, 5 Martin Speak, 6 John Pattison.

LPE Clubman

1 David Taylor, 2 Mark Lakeland, 3 Timmy Gravener, 4 Luke Freudenau, 5 Ashley Smith,

6 Kevin Hall.

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution

1 Barry Turnbull, 2 Jamie Dobson, 3 Michael Ogden, 4 Michael Smith, 5 Rian Warren,

6 Matt Wild.

MotoX Concepts Over 50’s

1 Willie Burgess, 2 Peter Williamson, 3 Gary Parker, 4 Andy Holland, 5 Tim Sabine,

6 Craig Holmes.

MotoX Concepts Over 60’s

1 Wayne Le Marquand, 2 Martin Snape, 3 Alan Hambridge, 4 Alan Hardy, 5 Wullie Brown,

6 Steve Mitton.

MRH Consultants 125 Evolution

1 Shane Holmes, 2 Andy Lawton, 3 Nathan Marsden, 4 Lee Holland, 5 Mason Bell,

6 Jack Bas.

Modern Class

1 James Clark, 2 Steven Sobey, 3 Lee Buck, 4 Matt Williamson, 5 Tom Holland, 6 Ryan Thorpe.


Comments are closed.