Round 4 – Astbury

Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 4

Lancashire Twinshock Club

Astbury, Cheshire

Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Andrew Fairclough Photography

The rearranged fourth round of the Toughsheet National Twinshock championships, took place at Astbury last weekend hosted by the Lancashire Twinshock Club, and supported by JAG Electrical (James Grieve). And the club should be applauded for rearranging, and having found a little twinshock gem of a track, as the 140 riders all thought the venue was superb, after extensive watering made it grippy and very fast, and the club ran a very enjoyable and slickly run 21 race meeting in the sunshine.

The event also incorporated the Frank Mercer Memorial, in memory of Dougi and Johns father who was a real supporter of the Twinshock scene, and the massive trophy was presented to Lucy Tilzey at a packed presentation, after she dominated the Clubman(Clubperson) class, to become the first lady rider ever, to win three National Twinshock races.

The Woodys Vintage Off Road Honda Evo class was first to the line this week, and there were some real battles at the front with Jamie Dobson, Corey Nemeth, Matt Williamson and Danny Blakeley all getting in the mix. Dobson took two wins and a third on the Kawasdaki, on his way to the overall victory, and with it took the Martindales Rider of the Meeting award. Nemeth took second overall with a second race win and two seconds, Blakeley was third, and Barry Turnbull took fourth to hold onto his championship lead. Dan Shepherd was delighted with fifth on his 250 Yamaha.

The Mauds Café Pontefract Super Evos was dominated by Jake Moss who took all three wins, each time from runner up Lee Martin. Gareth Morgans was third just in front of Jake Veitch.

Championship leader David Hopkins managed all three wins on his Husky, in the CI Sport Inters Twinshock class, and his nearest challenger was Ben Braddick, who took a second and two thirds on the Honda. Third went to a very fast charging Aaron Moore, with Chris Lambourne and Brad Perrett also in the silverware.

The Hazport Vets Modern Over 40 riders set a relentless pace on the fast course, and although each race had a different pace setter, former IMBA Champion Rick Du-Feu, came through the pack to take all three wins for first overall. Danny Blakeley just pipped Simon Bonser for second, after three epic races which saw them swap places in each race. Thurlow Bone had some work to do, racing through the field to improve in every race, and took fourth from Paul Bethell, who also worked his way onto the leaderboard in fifth.

In the Over 50 Vets, Marc Spruce was the man to beat, and had his best result of the year, beating John Littler by seven points. Dene Dewing Senior also had his best result to date in third.

Jimmy Margetson on his Maico, extended his Championship lead in the Wulfsport Experts Twinshock class, after three very convincing wins, in his bid to take the Number one plate come the end of the season. Luke Hill on the PDS Triumph, kept Jimmy honest in the final race, but Margetson managed the situation. Hill took second, with Ben Margetson battling his way through to third. Albert Martindale continued his fine run of form in fourth, from Lancashire Club member Michael Smith in fifth. Barry Turnbull had a bit of a stinker to be honest, and will be looking to get fit for the final two rounds to give chase to Margetson.

The MRH Consultants 125 Twinshock class saw Andy Hinchliffe win the overall from Matt Rudd by three points, with his two wins to Matts one. Jason Slater had three good rides, with a first race third being his best finish, beating Rob Glynn on a last race tie break.

There was a low turnout in the Falcon Shock 250 class, but that didn’t bother Stevie Denton, who won the class on a tie break with runner up Jim Shand, but both riders had a win apiece. Jmaie Biddulph was third despite an injury in the final race.

Willie Burgess was once again in a class of his own in the MotoX Concepts Over 50 Twinshock races, as he won all three by a country mile. Alan Bott raced to the runner up spot, but had to work hard to fend off the Suzuki of Tim Sabine, and only did it on the last race tie break. John Littler was fourth, and Pete Williamson was going well in fifth.

In the Over 60’s we had a new winner this week, as Alan Hambridge on the little red rocket managed two wins and a second to win the class, after Championship leader Wayne Le Marquand had a rear puncture in the final decider, which put him in second. Jon Wood was only a single point behind in third.

The fastest racing of the day was reserved for the MRH Evo 125 class, as the young guns gave the large crowd real value for money. Andy Lawton gets out of the gate every time, and indeed lead every race, but the action going on behind had to be seen to be believed. He had Shane Holmes, Corey Nemeth and Lee Holland snapping at this heels all day, but managed to handle the pressure, to take all three wins for a well-deserved first place. Former AMCA Champion Holmes, just did enough to take second from Nemeth by just a couple of points, with Holland fourth.

Mason Bell was up there too in fifth.

As you have read at the start of the report Lucy Tilzey made history by becoming the first lady to win three Twinshock races in the Black Art Tuning Clubman class, but she had to work hard in all three races to fight her way through the field. In the final race, runner up Danny Braddick was in the lead but a stuck gearbox put paid to his pursuit of a win. Riley Copeland showed a lot of fight to take third, from Simon Young in fourth by a single point. And young Simon Bentley returned to the fray with a fifth.

All in all, a fantastic day where nearly everyone went home with smiles on their faces.

The series now moves onto Pontrilas, Hereford for round five next weekend July 27/28.

Frank Mercer Memorial Trophy – Lucy Tilzey.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – Jamie Dobson.

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution

1 Jamie Dobson, 2 Corey Nemeth, 3 Danny Blakeley, 4 Barry Turnbull, 5 Dan Shepherd,

6 Jamie Simpson.

Mauds Café Pontefract Super Evos

1 Jake Moss, 2 Lee Martin, 3 Gareth Morgans, 4 Jake Veitch, 5 Steve Thornton, 6 Ben Knifton.

CI Sport Inters Twinshock

1 David Hopkins, 2 Ben Braddick, 3 Aaron Moore, 4 Chris Lambourne, 5 Brad Perrett,

6 James Cowgill.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Rick Du-Feu, 2 Danny Blakeley, 3 Simon Bonser, 4 Thurlow Bone, 5 Paul Bethell,

6 John Holmes.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Marc Spruce, 2 John Littler, 3 Dene Dewing, 4 Mark Bowden, 5 Melvyn Homer, 6 Dave Clayborn.

Wulfsport Experts Twinshock

1 Jimmy Margetson, 2 Luke Hill, 3 Ben Margetson, 4 Albert Martindale, 5 Michael Smith,

6 Patrick Gilligan.

Falcon Shocks 250 Twinshock

1 Steve Denton, 2 Jim Shand, 3 Jamie Biddulph.

MRH Consultants 125 Twinshock

1 Andy Hinchliffe, 2 Matt Rudd, 3 Jason Slater, 4 Rob Glynn, 5 Mark Burrows, 6 Robin Cowgill.

MotoX Concepts Over 50’s Twinshock

1 Willie Burgess, 2 Alan Bott, 3 Tim Sabine, 4 John Littler, 5 Pete Williamson, 6 Andy Holland.

MotoX Concepts Over 60’s Twinshock

1 Alan Hambridge, 2 Wayne Le Marquand, 3 Jon Wood, 4 Stephen Penson, 5 Stephen Turner,

6 Steve Mitton.

MRH Consultants 125 Evolution

1 Andy Lawton, 2 Shane Holmes, 3 Corey Nemeth, 4 Lee Holland, 5 Mason Bell, 6 Steve Gardham.

Black Art Tuning Clubman Twinshock

1 Lucy Tilzey, 2 Danny Braddick, 3 Riley Copeland, 4 Simon Young, 5 Simon Bentley,

6 Andre Kerry.


Comments are closed.