Round 3 – The Butts

Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 3

Yorkshire Twinshock Club

The Butts, Ashover, Derbys.

Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Tracey Allport Church of Dirt

The Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships returned to the Butts Quarry in Derbyshire on Sunday, ten years since their last visit, and the track was in great condition after Saturdays rain, which made conditions sticky for practice, but came good for the start of racing. The Yorkshire Twinshock Club were the hosts supported by the Cumbria Club, and they got through the mammoth 24 race programme in record time, with 160 riders enjoying the slickly run programme, supported by Central Motors Salvage from Derby.

The order of racing rotates at each round, and the CI Sport Intermediate riders had their own race to start proceedings, and it was James Graham on the Honda who had a clean sweep of three victories to extend his lead in the championship. James Curtis finished second each time to Graham and moves up to second in the series. Jake Veitch, upgraded from the Clubman, showed his speed to take third from Dean Gray and James Cowgill.

There were 16 Wulfsport Experts on the line for their first race, but an unexpected non starter was Jamie Jackson, who caught an overnight bug, so it turned out to be a bit of a stroll for Barry Turnbull on the JR Racing Honda, as he coasted to three unchallenged wins, with his times being almost as quick as the modern vets. Ben Margetson on the Wulfsport Maico got the bit between his teeth to take three seconds, and reigning champion Lee Holland on the YVMX Honda took three thirds. Michael Smith on the Sourbutts Maico took fourth from Elliot Stones and Craig Reynolds.

Honda machines dominated the MRH Consultants 125 Evo class, with race one winner John Butler getting out of the blocks first and holding off a late challenge from Jacob Joyce on the Steve Clitheroe prepped bike. But Joyce took command by winning the next two after gating better and hitting the front early. This gave him the overall and the series lead, with Butler taking runner up. Andy Lawton had a poor race one which relegated him to third overall. Jonno White split the Hondas on his beloved Suzuki, from David Blackburn and Andy Wilkes.

John Davis continues to shine in the 125 Twinshock class, and was mixing it with the top ten of the Evo bikes, as he took the overall with two wins and a second, and the series lead. First race winner Sean McCrea had a bit of a mare, as he got caught up in a couple of incidents, but still took the runner up on the podium. Series leader going into the weekend, Mark Burrows, took third, just edging out Phil Oxley and Steve Riley.

Willie Burgess started the day a little bit sore in the MD Racing Over 50’s, after a previous weekend crash, but still managed to take all three wins for the overall, but he was pushed in all three by Pete Mathia, who was racing in the Czech Republic a week earlier. Alan Bott improved with each race to take third, but Gary Parker felt unwell, and it showed as he had to settle for fourth from Tim Sabine in fifth. And there was a tie for sixth with travelling partners Wayne Le Marquand and Norman Emery.

Graham Challis just managed to get his bike home after a third race off, in the Over 60 class, which gave him the win by just a single point from Martin Snape on the Kawasaki. Challis won the first two, but always had runner up and third race winner Snape and Alan Hambridge snapping at his heels. Davie Robb rode consistently for fourth.

The wildcard rider Bradley Ward, over from America, and on a MX Concepts Honda, took the Woodys Vintage Honda Evolution class by storm with all three wins, and his times compared favourably with his modern bike times. Jamie Dobson was second, and the only rider to lap at anywhere near Wards times. Reigning champion Conor Smith fought hard for third, after some cracking dices with Michael Smith in fourth, just holding off Danny Blakeley and Dave Campbell.

The LPE Clubman class had three different winners, after four riders had been upgraded to the Inters after round two. Gavin Cole took a great race one win, just holding off Lucy Tilzey.

Event sponsor Simon Bentley was overjoyed at his race two win from Mark Gardner, and then Mark Bill won race three from Mike Tucker. This gave Mark Bill his first ever overall victory, and with it, was awarded the Martindales Rider of the Meeting decanter. Bentley was runner up overall from Gardner, Cole and Tucker.

The Hazport Vets class had some real close racing, and turned out to be a three way battle between Danny Blakeley, Jonno White and Laurence Wiltshire. And it all went to down to the final race as Blakeley and White took a race win apiece, before the decider went to Danny to win by three points from White. Wiltshire settled for third, following the pair home each time. Paul Groom got in on the act in fourth from Mark Wartigg.

Mike Allport once again was the best Over 50 vet from Steve Rowlands and Martin Speak.

There was a small field of modern riders to finish a great weekend, with Bradley Ward showing what a class act he is on any bike, by taking all three wins. Joe Scott and Jimmy Margetson followed him home in second and third from Curtis Dixon and James Clark.

The next round is at Eskham House Farm, Garstang, Lancaster on June 18.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – Mark Bill.

CI Sport Inters

1 James Graham, 2 James Curtis, 3 Jake Veitch, 4 Dean Gray, 5 James Cowgill, 6 Dom Bratt.

Wulfsport Experts

1 Barry Turnbull, 2 Ben Margetson, 3 Lee Holland, 4 Michael Smith, 5 Elliot Stones, 6 Craig Reynolds.

Falcon Shocks Best 250 – Jamie Biddulph.

MRH Consultants 125 Twinshock

1 John Davis, 2 Sean McCrea, 3 Mark Burrows, 4 Phil Oxley, 5 Steve Riley, 6 Chris Rowlands.

MRH Consultants 125 Evolution

1 Jacob Joyce, 2 John Butler, 3 Andy Lawton, 4 Jonno White, 5 David Blackburn, 6 Andy Wilkes.

MD Racing Over 50’s

1 Willie Burgess, 2 Pete Mathia, 3 Alan Bott, 4 Gary Parker, 5 Tim Sabine, 6 Wayne Le Marquand.

MD Racing Over 60’s

1 Graham Challis, 2 Martin Snape, 3 Alan Hambridge, 4 David Robb, 5 Phil Wilkes, 6 Bill Brown.

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution

1 Bradley Ward, 2 Jamie Dobson, 3 Conor Smith, 4 Michael Smith, 5 Danny Blakeley,

6 Dave Campbell.

LPE Clubman

1 Mark Bill, 2 Simon Bentley, 3 Mark Gardner, 4 Gavin Cole, 5 Mike Tucker, 6 Sammy Peach.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Danny Blakeley, 2 Jonno White, 3 Laurence Wiltshire, 4 Paul Groom, 5 Mark Wartigg,

6 Mike Allport.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Mike Allport, 2 Steve Rowlands, 3 Martin Speak, 4 John Pattison, 5 Neil Smith, 6 Chris Rowlands.

Modern Class

1 Bradley Ward, 2 Joe Scott, 3 Jimmy Margetson, 4 Curtis Dixon, 5 James Clark, 6 Miles Dolphin.


Comments are closed.