Round 2 – Hawkstone Park

Toughsheet National Twinshock Championships Round 2

Cumbria Twinshock Club

Hawkstone Park

Report Geoff Shuttleworth

Pictures Andrew Fairclough Photography

The second round of the Toughsheet National Twinshocks championships took place at Hawkstone Park last weekend hosted by the Cumbria Twinshock Club and supported by Vans of Westwood. The event incorporated the Matt Murphy Memorial, and the very handsome trophy was won by Andy Lawton, and was presented by Matts Dad Gary at the end of the meeting.

As is usual at this event there was a huge turnout, and due to heavy rain the week before, the going was soft, and riders found the going extremely tough, but the club worked wonders to complete the 24 race programme on the day. The sun shone through though, and although the track got rough, it certainly dried out, and there is no doubting there was a few aching bodies after the racing.

The Hazport Vets modern were first to the line this week, and Jonno White took the holeshot on the vintage Suzuki in race one, but he had to succumb to the pressure from Danny Blakeley on the second lap. Danny went on to dominate the class and took all three wins to take the overall in the Over 40’s and extend his series lead. Jonno ended up in second overall with his 2-3-2 scorecard. Adam Wilkinson had his best ride to date in third overall, helped by his second race second position. Event sponsor Simon Bonser overcame two crashes to salvage fourth, and Grant Hacking took fifth.

Best of the Vets Over 50’s went to a delighted Melvyn Homer helped by two sixth places. Second and third went to Adrian Lewis and Mike Allport.

Reigning National Twinshock champion, Barry Turnbull, was back to his old self in the Wulfsport Experts, as he reeled off three wins on his big Honda. Bryn Clarke tried all he could to stay with him in race one, but bike trouble stopped him in his tracks in race two. That left series leader Jimmy Margetson to take second overall, albeit with a reduced points lead going into round three. Michael Smith on the Sourbutts Monda took third, by a point from Albert Martindale who was only out on his Dads Maico for the second time. Martindale looked really smooth, and also took the Martindales Rider of the Meeting award for his vastly improved showing. Luke Hill took the PDS Triumph to fifth place.

Andy Hinchliffe once again dominated the MRH Consultants 125 Twinshock class with three wins, and has yet to be beaten. Matt Rudd followed Andy home in each race to take second, and Jason Slater had his best ride so far in third, in front of Rob Glynn and Robin Cowgill.

Matt Bennett took his first overall win in the Falcon Shocks 250 Twinshock class with a win and two seconds, beating third race winner Jamie Biddulph by two points. Jim Shand was in amongst the action and took third place.

It was great to see former GP rider Dave Watson out in the MotoX Concepts Over 50 Twinshock class, and everyone was eager to see him back in action against fellow Irishman Willie Burgess.

Burgess got the race one victory, with Watson shadowing him all the way home, and John Iddon always there in third. But it all changed in race two, as Willies Murphy Maico was misfiring going to the line with ignition problems. This left Watson out in front to take the next two races to take a well deserved overall win. Scotlands Craig Smith really got to grips with the Hawkstone sand and took second overall from John Iddon on a third race tie break. Burgess managed fourth and Alan Bott battled to fifth.

Jerseys Wayne Le Marquand on the Marsh HPF is another rider yet to be beaten in the MotoX Concepts Over 60’s, as he took another trio of wins. His nearest challenger was Alan Hambridge in second, and Jon Wood took third on a tie break with Graham Challis.

There was huge anticipation before the MRH Evo 125 class, as it is usually a very close run class, but each race Andy Lawton hit the front, and checked out, without anyone actually getting near his back wheel all day. It was made all the sweeter as he took the Matt Murphy Trophy for his dominance. Wildcard rider Corey Nemeth followed Andy home in each leg to take second, with Lee Holland having a great day in third. Matt Wild and Matty Sanders completed the podium with some top four finishes.

Debutant Keelan Noble shook up the Black Art Tuning Clubman Twinshock class with two wins and a third to take the laurels, but it was regular Steve Hakes who rolled back the years to take the runner up berth. First race winner Riley Copeland would have been challenging for the overall but for a third race DNF, but still took third from Craig Ruck and Steve Hinchliffe.

Barry Turnbull reigned supreme in the Woodys Vintage Off Road Honda Evo Open class, as he reeled off three wins to take his tally to six for the day. Michael Ogden recovered from a first race fight back from last to take second overall. Then it was a battle between Chris Sanders, Danny Blakeley and Jamie Dobson for the right to get on the podium.

The Mauds Café Pontefract Super Evos had their own race at this round, and 25 took to the line for the racing. Guest rider James Lassu was in a class of his own, and took three very comfortable wins for the victory. Paul Smith had three seconds for runner up, and series leader Chris Hind was third, just getting the better of Jake Moss and Grant Hacking, in a tightly fought finish.

The Partridge Ventilation Pre-83 125’s joined the fun in the sand, and it was George Gough who headed all three races to lead the series. James Shand was runner up in each race to take second, and he was followed by Paul Baldwin with three thirds. Adrian Jessop riding two classes took fourth from Kevin Jewell.

The final class of the day was the CI Sport Inters Twinshocks, and another of the series leaders made it count as David Hopkins on his Husky won two and was second in the final race to win the day. Guest rider Kyle Noble had a good day taking the third race win and second overall, and third was Fyn Townson with his best ride so far. Chris Lambourne got the better of Chris Anderton to take fourth.

The series now moves onto Bevercotes, Notts for round three in two weeks time on on Sunday May 26.

Martindales Rider of the Meeting – Albert Martindale.

Hazport Veterans Over 40’s

1 Danny Blakeley, 2 Jonno White, 3 Adam Wilkinson, 4 Simon Bonser, 5 Grant Hacking,

6 Chris Hind.

Hazport Veterans Over 50’s

1 Melvyn Homer, 2 Adrian Lewis, 3 Mike Allport, 4 Steve Thornton, 5 Adrian Jessop, 6 Paul Wright.

Wulfsport Experts Twinshock

1 Barry Turnbull, 2 Jimmy Margetson, 3 Michael Smith, 4 Albert Martindale, 5 Luke Hill,

6 Ben James.

Falcon Shocks 250 Twinshock

1 Matt Bennett, 2 Jamie Biddulph, 3 Jim Shand, 4 Kyle Godbear, 5 Dave Ellis.

MRH Consultants 125 Twinshock

1 Andy Hinchliffe, 2 Matt Rudd, 3 Jason Slater, 4 Rob Glynn, 5 Robin Cowgill, 6 Chris Kirkbride.

MotoX Concepts Over 50’s Twinshock

1 Dave Watson, 2 Craig Smith, 3 John Iddon, 4 Willie Burgess, 5 Alan Bott, 6 Paul Chiappa.

MotoX Concepts Over 60’s Twinshock

1 Wayne Le Marquand, 2 Alan Hambridge, 3 Jon Wood, 4 Graham Challis, 5 John Newsome, 6 Steve Mitton.

MRH Consultants 125 Evolution

1 Andy Lawton, 2 Corey Nemeth, 3 Lee Holland, 4 Matt Wild, 5 Matty Sanders, 6 Jack May.

Black Art Tuning Clubman Twinshock

1 Keelan Noble, 2 Steve Hakes, 3 Riley Copeland, 4 Craig Ruck, 5 Steve Hinchliffe, 6 Ashley Smith.

Woody Vintage Off Road Honda Evolution

1 Barry Turnbull, 2 Michael Ogden, 3 Chris Sanders, 4 Danny Blakeley, 5 Jamie Dobson,

6 Michael Smith.

Mauds Café Pontefract Super Evos

1 James Lassu, 2 Paul Smith, 3 Chris Hind, 4 Jake Moss, 5 Grant Hacking, 6 Craig Marsden.

Partridge Ventilation Pre-83 125’s

1 George Gough, 2 James Shand, 3 Paul Baldwin, 4 Adrian Jessop, 5 Kevin Jewell, 6 Andy Wreford.

CI Sport Inters Twinshock

1 David Hopkins, 2 Kyle Noble, 3 Fyn Townson, 4 Chris Lambourne, 5 Chris Anderton,

6 Timmy Gravener.


Comments are closed.